On 13th June, 2012 CCEDU deployed a team of ten CCEDU members to observe the Bushenyi-Ishaka by-elections. Returns filed by the CCEDU observers indicated that the election was largely free and fair. However some of the notable draw-backs included: names missing from the voter's register, unavailability of voting material at some polling stations and the excessive deployment of police in some of the urban areas.

The FDC candidate, Odo Tayebwa won the election defeating the NRM candidate Nasser Basajjabalaba and two Independent candidates namely Ismail Kikurwe and Robert Bwarare. According to the results released by the Electoral Commission, Odo Tayebwa polled 7,048 votes against Nasser Basajjabalaba's 5,653.